iKNOW Politics's picture

At stake in this election:

•The office of President of Guatemala

Description of government structure:

•Chief of State: President Alvaro COLOM Caballeros

•Head of Government: President Alvaro COLOM Caballeros

•Assembly: Guatemala has a unicameral Congress of the Republic (Congreso de la Republica) with 158 seats.

Description of electoral system:

•The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 4-year term.

•In the Congress of the Republic (Congreso de la Republica) 158 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** Of the 158 members, 127 are departmental-level representatives selected through 22 departmental lists; 31 are national-level representatives selected in one, nationwide district. Votes are tabulated using the D'Hondt method.

Main Candidates in the Second Round of the Presidential race:

•Otto Pérez PEREZ Molina

Party: Patriotic Party (PP) / Partido Patriota


Party: Renewed Democratic Liberty Party / Libertad Democrática Renovada (Lider)

Read more on IFES Election Guide

Sunday, November 6, 2011 - 17:39
Share this article with your social networks: 


iKNOW Politics's picture

September 15, 2011 15:05
iKNOW Politics

Regardless of the runoff election result, November's election will usher in Guatemala's first-ever female vice president. Perez Molina's running mate is Roxana Baldetti, a congresswoman, while former First Lady Raquel Blandon is on Baldizon's ticket.

Preliminary results following yesterday's presidential election in Guatemala indicate that no single candidate won over 50 percent of the vote, meaning that a runoff election will be held on November 6. With 92 percent of ballots counted by the Tribunal Supremo Electoral, Otto Perez Molina, a former army general, obtained 36.16 percent of the vote despite polling as high as 49 percent shortly before the election. Perez Molina will face the second-place candidate, Manuel Baldizon, an attorney, businessman and congressman, who collected 23.40 percent.

Read more on iKNOW Politics